Highway Department

North Piatt County Joint Township Oil & Chip Sealing

Serving as Highway Commissioner: Charlie Montgomery

Highway Department Employees;
Alan Sprinkle
Mike Hammerschmidt
The Highway Commissioner is responsible for;
  • Construction, snow removal and maintenance of district roads
  • Financial actions
  • Reports
  • Care of equipment and property
  • Traffic control devices and signs
  • Administrative work
  • Personnel
  • Public Relations
  • Contracting
  • Purchasing, Leasing or Financing equipment
  • Purchasing row crops for snow barriers
Highway Department Contact Information:
P.O. Box 557 / 832 E Old Rt 47
Monticello, IL. 61856
217-762-7524 (Office)
217-202-6198 (Cell)


2021 Monticello Township Highway Department (Planned) Road Projects and Community Service Events;
  • MTHD / City of Monticello Spring & Fall Cleanup for City of Monticello residents & Monticello Township rural residents
  • Annual Summer Joint Township Oil and Chip Seal Work
  • Complete road rebuilding of the middle mile of 1700N, and far north mile of 1200E and double coat of oil & chip seal both miles
  • Ditching work along the "road rebuilds

Monticello Township Highway Department Available Resources



Summer Hours     April 1 thru October 31       6:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M.       Monday thru Thursday (15 minute tailgate lunch)
Balance of Year    Nov. 1 thru March 30th        7:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M.       Monday thru Friday

Monticello Township Map

Photos from the Highway Department

Board & Offices

Monticello Township Office
205 North State Street
Monticello, IL 61856
(217) 762-2215
Monticello Township 
Cemetery Sexton Office
916 E. 1730 N.
Monticello, Il 61856
Monticello Township Highway Department
832 Old Rt 47  P.O. Box 557
Monticello, IL. 61856
(217) 762-7524
Monticello Township Assessor Office
427 W. Marion Street
Monticello, IL. 61856
(217) 762-2818

Board of Trustees

Michael Wileaver
Ronald Meece
Delbert Lubbers
Richard Howland


Supervisor - Tamara Wilson
Highway Commissioner - Charlie Montgomery
Assessor - LaDonna Kaiser
Township Clerk -
Kathy Brown
Cemetery Sexton - Chris Cravens